Atom & Eve webcast FRIDAY from Alpach

frank_wilczek_2.jpgOn Friday (August 25, 2006) watch the webcast of the mini-opera “Atom and Eve” live from the Alpbach Technology Forum in Alpbach, Austria. To see the webcast, click on one of these links:
in German
in English

It begins at 7:00 pm, Austria time (6:00 pm in London; 1:00 pm in New York; 10 am in Los Angeles; other times in other places, of course).

The performance stars Nobel Laureate Frank Wilczek (in his operatic singing debut!) as Atom, the little oxygen atom, and Diane Shooman as Eve, the lovely scientist who falls in love with him.

The mini-opera premiered at the 2003 Ig Nobel Prize Ceremony. It has a new ending, written specially for tonight’s performance.

DianeShooman.jpgThe mini-opera will be part of a on-hour show hosted by Improbable Research editor Marc Abrahams, and also starring Ig Nobel Prize winner Karl Schw?rzler (who shared his prize with the tiny nation of Liechtenstein, for making it possible to rent the entire country for weddings, bar mitzvahs, and corporate parties).

The performance, in turn, is part of the 3-day-long Alpbach Technology Forum.

Click here to see a downloadable, printable booklet of the libretto in English, German and Chinese.

Comments are closed.