Upcoming Events


Please join our Upcoming-Events email list!

October 25, 2019, Friday Texas Section American Physical Society meeting—Lubbock, Texas, USA—Marc Abrahams will be the banquet speaker, speaking about things other than the banquet.
November 7, 2019, Thursday, 5:00 pm Vienna BioCenter PhD Symposium, Vienna, AUSTRIA— Marc Abrahams will talk about the Ig Nobel Prizes and Improbable Research.
November 13, 2019, Wednesday, 7:00 pm Science Salon, Copenhagen, DENMARKHofteatret, Christiansborg Ridebane 18— Marc Abrahams and Line Friis Frederiksen will discuss the Ig Nobel Prizes and Improbable Research. TICKETS.
November 14, 2019, Thursday, 3:00 pm Gothenburg Global Biodiversity Centre, Gothenburg, SWEDEN— Marc Abrahams and Ig Nobel Prize winner Susanne Åkesson will talk about biodiversity and the Ig Nobel Prizes and Improbable Research. TICKETS.
November 18, 2019, Monday Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA—Surprise-Filled Detective Stories — How to Trigger Curiosity, About Science, in Non-Scientists,”  with Marc Abrahams and Carey Goldberg and Melissa Franklin. [Open to Harvard faculty only]
November 22, 2019, Friday, 4:00 pm Institute of Science and Technology, Klosterneuburg, AUSTRIA —David Hu, winner of two Ig Nobel Physics Prizes, will talk about “A wombat’s cube-shaped poo and other mysteries of animal movement
November 29, 2019, Friday Science Friday“—Public radio— Broadcast of specially edited version of this year’s Ig Nobel Prize ceremony. Check your local station for the time, or listen online at the SciFri web site.
January 13, 2020, Monday Tencent Youth Science Festival—Beijing, CHINA—Details TBA.
January, 2020 (exact date TBA) Arisia—Boston, Massachusetts, USA—Dramatic readings from improbable research studies. Details TBA.
February 15, 2020, Saturday, evening. AAAS Annual Meeting—Seattle, Washington, USA—Details TBA.
March/April, 2020 Ig Nobel EuroTour—Details TBA.

  • March 11, Wednesday—Manchester University, UK
  • March 12, Thursday—Lake Maggiore, ITALY [private event]
  • March 13, Friday, 2 pm—Istituto Mario Negri, Milan, ITALY
  • March 21, Saturday—Imperial College London, UK, in the Great Hall.This is the first half of a special double-event day, together with BAHFest London
  • March 24, Tuesday, 8:00 pm—Stadtsaal, Vienna, AUSTRIATICKETS are now on sale
  • March 25, Wednesday—University of Graz, AUSTRIA
  • March 30, Monday, 6:00 pm—EPFL, Lausanne, SWITZERLAND
  • April 6, Monday, 6:00 pm—University of Duisberg-Essen, GERMANY
  • April 14, Tuesday—Aarhus University, DENMARK
  • April 15, Wednesday—University of Southern Denmark, DENMARK
  • Date TBA—Oslo University, Norway
  • Date TBA—Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Date TBA—Stockholm Universtity, Sweden
  • …and more events TBA
July, 2020 (exact date TBA) TICKETS go on sale for the 30th First Annual Ig Nobel Prize ceremony.
July, 2020 (exact date TBA) Readercon, Quincy, Massachusetts, USA— Dramatic Readings from Ig Nobel Prize-winning studies.
September, 2020 (exact date TBA) 30th First Annual Ig Nobel Prize Ceremony—Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA— Details TBA. Tickets will go on sale in July.
September, 2020 (exact date TBA) Ig Informal Lectures—MIT, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA— Details TBA.
Date TBA, autumn 2020 Ig Nobel Exhibition—Osaka, JAPAN—…and related events in Japan. Details TBA.

And a list of some PAST EVENTS. Would you like to host an event?

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!